Brave Search API Coverage in 2026 (Who Resells It, and Who Does Not)

By Anurag Pathak · · 13 min read

Most “best Brave Search API” lists have the same problem: they name vendors who do not sell the engine. It is an easy mistake to make from the outside, because every one of those vendors sells six or seven other engines and says so on the same page. So this post is a coverage map before it is a price list. I went through the seven largest wholesale SERP vendors in the category one catalogue at a time and wrote down, for each, whether a Brave product exists at all. Six of the seven publish none, and the seventh sells a different product from the one you probably searched for. Checked 2026-09-16.

I read every rate below off the vendor’s own live pricing or catalogue page on 16 September 2026 and linked each one inline, and where a vendor publishes no figure I have said so rather than filled the cell. Nothing here comes from a search snippet, an AI summary or a third-party blog post. I ran no benchmark and I make no claim about anyone’s speed or success rate. Serpent is the API this site sells, and it appears here as one row among several.

Short answer: six of the seven biggest wholesale SERP vendors publish no Brave product at all — DataForSEO, Bright Data, SearchApi, HasData, Scrapingdog and Traject Data — and the seventh, SerpApi, lists a Brave AI Mode API rather than a Brave web search API. That leaves three realistic routes: the Brave Search API itself, whose Search plan is $5 per 1,000 requests and which includes $5 in free credits every month; the AI answer products, which return prose rather than a ranked list; and the general search APIs that carry Brave as one engine among several, ours included — see the Brave Search API endpoint page for what that covers. On our side the published web category rate card is $0.60 / $0.06 / $0.03 per 1,000 calls at Default, Growth and Scale. Under roughly a thousand requests a month, Brave’s own API costs nothing and nothing on this page beats it.

Who does not sell a Brave API

Normally an exclusion list is a footnote. Here it is the headline, because the absences are what give this market its shape. If shopping for Brave felt harder than shopping for Google, that is not your imagination — most of the vendors on a normal shortlist simply do not stock it, and none of them make that easy to see. They publish an engine list; Brave is not on it; the page moves on.

A white lighthouse keeper's house with a red lantern room, alone on a bare rocky headland under a flat grey sky
The six wholesale vendors excluded from the price table below, and why. These are findings, not omissions: each was read off the vendor’s own pages, linked in the first column. Checked 2026-09-16.
VendorWhat its own pages sayHow it was verified
DataForSEO No Brave product exists. The v3 SERP documentation overview states that “All major search engines are supported: Google, Bing, YouTube, Yahoo, Baidu, Naver, and Seznam.” Brave is absent from the endpoint list and from the navigation. Four separate vendor pages: the SERP pricing page, the full pricing list, the SERP API product page and the v3 documentation overview. Brave appears on none of them.
Bright Data No Brave product listed. The SERP API product page says “We support 7 major search engines covering 195 countries” and names them: Google, Bing, DuckDuckGo, Yandex, Baidu, Yahoo and Naver. Brave is not one of the seven. The SERP API product page, where the seven engines are enumerated by name. The word Brave does not appear anywhere on it.
SearchApi No Brave engine. The documentation navigation lists Google, Bing, Baidu, Naver, Yahoo Search, Yandex and DuckDuckGo, plus YouTube, Google Images, Google Videos, Google News, TikTok, Instagram, Reddit and Amazon among others. Brave is not in it. The engine navigation in SearchApi’s own documentation, alongside its pricing page.
HasData No Brave product in a catalogue of 40 APIs. The catalogue carries DuckDuckGo, Google, Bing, Images, Short Videos, Instagram and YouTube products; there is no Brave entry of any kind. The API catalogue page, cross-read against the two pricing pages that print HasData’s per-product rates.
Scrapingdog Brave does not appear in the published per-endpoint credit table, so no per-request cost for it exists to compare. The table prices more than thirty endpoints by name; Brave is not one of them. The pricing page’s credit table, read twice on the same day.
Traject Data / SerpWow No Brave engine. The documented engine list is “google, bing, yahoo, baidu, yandex, naver, amazon or ebay”. The SerpWow Search API overview in Traject Data’s own documentation.

Sources: each vendor’s own catalogue, documentation or pricing page, linked in the first column, all read on the same day. An absence on a vendor’s pages is evidence that the vendor does not advertise the product, which is the thing a buyer can act on; it is not proof that no such endpoint exists anywhere inside that company. Where a vendor has told the world what it sells, that list is what a purchase decision has to be built on. Checked 2026-09-16.

One distinction is worth keeping straight, because it changes what you should do about it. “Not in the catalogue” and “not in the price list” are different claims. DataForSEO, Bright Data, SearchApi and Traject Data all enumerate their supported engines explicitly, and Brave is not among them — that is a product decision, stated in public. Scrapingdog’s case is narrower: Brave is simply absent from the credit table that prices every other endpoint it sells, so even if something existed there would be no published number to put in a column. HasData’s catalogue is the widest of the group at 40 APIs and still has no Brave entry. Either way you cannot fill the cell, and inventing the number that fills it is how the comparison posts you already read got written.

It also explains something you may have noticed while shopping. The non-Google engine most of these vendors do carry is DuckDuckGo, and the two are not interchangeable data sets. Brave runs its own crawler and its own index, which is the whole reason a second opinion on a query is worth paying for in the first place. We put numbers on how much two engines really differ in how much search engine results actually overlap, and the engine-by-engine version is Brave versus Google as a SERP data source.

SerpApi’s Brave product is an AI Mode API

SerpApi is the seventh vendor, and it is the subtle one. It does have a Brave product. It is not a Brave web search API.

Its search engine API catalogue listed 112 named APIs on 16 September 2026. Reading it engine by engine: Yahoo has three entries, DuckDuckGo has four, YouTube has four, Google Images has three. Brave has exactly one, and it is the “Brave AI Mode API”. There is no plain Brave Search API in the catalogue, and serpapi.com/brave-search-api — the URL the naming convention of every other engine would predict — returned HTTP 404 on the same day.

That is not a criticism. An AI answer surface is a real product with real buyers, and SerpApi is one of very few vendors selling one for this engine at all. It is a warning about what you are buying. The two things return different shapes and answer different questions:

If your shortlist came out of a search for “Brave Search API”, check which of those two you have actually been quoted for before you write a line of parsing code. The same trap exists across the AI-answer category generally, and we mapped which vendors return which answer surfaces in which SERP APIs return AI Overviews.

One more thing that belongs next to SerpApi’s name, because it is a fairness point rather than a sales point: SerpApi publishes one ladder and no per-engine surcharge. None of its pages read on the date above states that one engine costs more than another, and there is no separate rate card per engine. That is not the same as SerpApi promising every engine costs the same, and I have not written it that way. The ladder in the table below is the only rate card SerpApi publishes; we walked it plan by plan in SerpApi pricing explained.

Brave sells its own, and it is the source of record

Before any reseller, the obvious option: Brave sells a Search API itself, directly, with a published rate card. For a large share of readers that is the right answer and the rest of this post is optional reading. It is the source of record for its own index, it is metered rather than bucketed into monthly plans, and it carries a monthly credit that makes small workloads free.

Brave’s own published plans, read from brave.com/search/api. Two metered plans and one custom plan, with the capacity each publishes. Checked 2026-09-16.
PlanWhat one request returnsPublished rateFree creditPublished capacity
Brave Search API — Search plan Web search results $5 per 1,000 requests $5 in free credits every month 50 queries per second
Brave Search API — Answers plan A synthesised answer rather than a list of links $4 per 1,000 requests, plus $5 per million input and output tokens $5 in free credits every month 2 queries per second
Brave Search API — custom plan Custom terms, capacity or endpoints No published rate Not stated Not stated

The arithmetic. On the Brave Search API the monthly credit is $5 and the Search plan rate is $5 per 1,000 requests, so the credit covers about 1,000 requests a month before a card is charged. The Answers plan bills a token component on top of its per-request rate, so its true cost depends on answer length and cannot be reduced to one per-1,000 figure — the request rate is the floor, not the bill. The custom plan is quoted, not published, and a quoted price cannot be bounded from outside, so it is marked as unpublished and left alone. Checked 2026-09-16.

The plan names matter for one practical reason: the old Free / Base / Pro ladder is gone. No plan on the page today is named Free, Base or Pro. If you are reading a comparison that describes Brave’s API in those terms — including older pages of ours — it is describing a rate card that no longer exists, and any number attached to it should be re-checked before you budget against it. That is the single most common stale fact about this engine on the web right now.

How I checked this

The question is fixed: can I buy Brave web search results from this vendor, and at what published price? Everything below follows from that.

What the realistic options cost

With the exclusions named, the shelf is short. Here is what is actually on it, in the same unit, with each vendor’s entry rate and its lowest published rate kept apart.

A stone tower lighthouse on a breakwater across choppy turquoise water, two small navigation markers beside it
Every option with a published Brave rate, per 1,000 requests. DataForSEO, Bright Data, SearchApi, HasData, Scrapingdog and Traject Data are excluded because they publish no Brave product at all — the table above says how each was verified. Checked 2026-09-16.
OptionWhat one unit isPublished rate per 1,000 — entryPublished rate per 1,000 — lowest publishedMonthly cost of that lowest rateFree allowance
Serpent APIBrave web search One call on Quick Search; one call per page requested on Deep Search $0.60 $0.03 None — a one-time $500 deposit, spendable as balance Free calls to start, any eligible endpoint
Brave Search API — Search plan One request, web results $5.00 $5.00 None — metered, no plan to buy $5 in credits every month
Brave Search API — Answers plan One request, a synthesised answer. Not comparable to a web search row $4.00, plus tokens $4.00, plus tokens None — metered, no plan to buy $5 in credits every month
SerpApi — Brave AI Mode API One search on SerpApi’s single ladder. An AI answer surface, not web search $25.00 $1.96 $106,050 /mo Cloud 54M plan 250 searches a month

Arithmetic and sources. Serpent: the published web category rate card is $0.60 / $0.06 / $0.03 per 1,000 calls at Default, Growth and Scale, with Growth locked by a one-time $100 deposit and Scale by $500; the deposit is spendable balance, not a fee. Quick Search is one unit per request whatever depth you ask for; Deep Search is one unit per page requested, up to 10 pages, so a ten-page Deep call is ten units and the per-1,000 figure is per call, not per page. Brave prints its own rates: “$5 per 1,000 requests” on the Search plan and “$4 per 1,000 requests” plus “$5 per million input/output tokens” on the Answers plan, each with “$5 in free credits every month”; neither is derived. SerpApi prints no per-1,000 rate at all: $25.00 is $25 divided by the Starter plan’s 1,000 searches, and $1.96 is $106,050 divided by Cloud 54M’s 54,000,000 searches, which is $1.9639 exactly. Both SerpApi figures are derived, and both are its general ladder rather than a Brave-specific price. Checked 2026-09-16.

Two things about that table need saying plainly rather than left for a reader to infer.

The Answers row is in the table and out of the ranking. It is there because it is a published Brave rate and leaving it out would hide a real product; it is not ranked against the web search rows because it returns a different thing, and because its token component means the per-request figure is a floor rather than a bill. The same goes for SerpApi’s row: the ladder is real and the arithmetic is right, but what it buys is an AI answer surface.

Read the SerpApi column downward before you quote the small number. $1.96 per 1,000 is a real published rate and it requires the $106,050-a-month Cloud 54M plan, which is 54 million searches. The rate you actually start on is $25.00 per 1,000. That gap between a vendor’s floor and its entry price is the single most-abused number in this category, which is why the two have their own columns here and everywhere else we publish a comparison — the whole-market version is in the SERP API pricing comparison.

What to check before you call it Brave coverage

“Supports Brave” on a feature grid is one tick box covering at least five separate questions. This is the part of a provider comparison almost nobody does, and it is the part that decides whether the cheap option was cheap. Ask every candidate the following, and note that I am answering for our own API from what we publish rather than from a benchmark — I did not run paid calls against anyone else for this post.

The reason to ask all six is that the cheapest row on a price table is not the cheapest option if it returns half the rows or drops the field your pipeline keys on. If you are merging several providers into one schema, the shape questions matter more than the rate, and the pattern for doing it is in normalising SERP JSON across providers.

Where the other options beat us

A comparison that always concludes “buy ours” is worth nothing to you and nothing to a search engine. Here is where we lose, stated as plainly as the rest.

Small workloads, on price, outright. On the Brave Search API, $5 in free credits every month against a published $5 per 1,000 requests is about a thousand requests a month at zero cost, and no per-call rate undercuts free. If your entire job is a daily check on a few dozen queries, buy nothing: go to brave.com/search/api, take the credit, and skip this whole market.

Authority, always. Brave is the source of record for its own index. If you are publishing research about what Brave returns, or your contract requires a first-party data source, that is a reason that no price on this page outweighs. The same applies to any dispute about whether a result was really there.

An AI answer surface for this engine. SerpApi sells a Brave AI Mode API and Brave sells its Answers plan. If generated prose is the deliverable, those are the two products built for it, and a web search API is the wrong tool no matter what it costs.

Cached searches. Every SerpApi engine page carries the same line: “Cached searches are free, and are not counted towards your searches per month.” On a workload with heavy query repetition that is a real discount which no rate card captures. On any provider that bills every call, the equivalent saving is yours to build, and the pattern is in building a SERP cache to cut your API bill.

Free tiers for evaluation. SerpApi gives 250 searches a month, every month, which is more evaluation headroom than our free calls to start. Ours is enough to read the JSON and decide whether you like the field names; it is not a pilot.

Which option fits which job

Whichever you pick, do the same two checks before you commit a budget. Run one real query and count the organic rows you got against the number you assumed, because almost nobody publishes it. Then run one query that returns nothing at all — a nonsense string is fine — and look at what comes back, because an empty result and a broken request should never wear the same status code. Those two calls will tell you more than any comparison table, this one included.

FAQ

Which SERP API vendors sell Brave search data in 2026?

Fewer than the size of the category suggests. Of the seven largest wholesale SERP vendors, six publish no Brave product at all: DataForSEO, Bright Data, SearchApi, HasData, Scrapingdog and Traject Data. Each of those was checked against that vendor's own engine list, product catalogue or credit table on 16 September 2026, and Brave appears on none of them. The seventh, SerpApi, lists a Brave AI Mode API and no plain Brave web search product. Brave itself sells a Search API directly, and a small number of general search APIs carry Brave as one engine among several. Checked 2026-09-16.

Does SerpApi have a Brave Search API?

It has a Brave AI Mode API, which is not the same product. SerpApi's search engine catalogue listed 112 named APIs on 16 September 2026, and the only Brave entry among them is the Brave AI Mode API. The URL you would guess for the other one, serpapi.com/brave-search-api, returned HTTP 404 the same day. The distinction matters at integration time: an AI answer surface hands back generated text, while a web search product hands back a ranked list of links with titles, URLs and snippets. If your code parses organic rows, the AI Mode product is not a drop-in for it. Checked 2026-09-16.

How much does Brave's own Search API cost?

It publishes two metered plans and one custom plan. On the Brave Search API the Search plan is $5 per 1,000 requests, with 50 queries per second. The Brave Search API Answers plan, which returns a synthesised answer rather than a list of links, is $4 per 1,000 requests plus $5 per million input and output tokens, with 2 queries per second. Both metered plans include $5 in free credits every month. The third plan covers custom terms, capacity or endpoints and carries no published rate at all, so nobody outside can bound what it costs. Checked 2026-09-16.

Is there still a free Brave Search API?

Not as a standing free tier, but not nothing either. Both metered plans on the Brave Search API include $5 in free credits every month, and at the Search plan's published $5 per 1,000 requests that credit is worth about 1,000 requests a month before a card is charged. No plan on the page today is named Free, Base or Pro; write-ups that still describe that ladder, ours among them, are out of date. If a thousand requests a month covers your job, the cheapest way to get Brave data is Brave's own API, and nothing on this page undercuts it. Checked 2026-09-16.

What is the difference between a Brave web search API and a Brave AI answer API?

They answer different questions and they return different shapes. A web search product returns the ranked list: position, title, URL, snippet, and whatever blocks the page carried, which is what rank tracking, competitor monitoring and retrieval pipelines are built on. An AI answer product returns generated prose about the query, with whatever sources it chooses to attach, which is what you want when the deliverable is an answer rather than a list. Both are sold under the word Brave in 2026, and a buyer who searches for one can easily end up reading the rate card for the other. Checked 2026-09-16.

Which option should I choose for Brave data?

It depends on volume and on what you need back. Under about a thousand requests a month, the monthly credit covers you and Brave's own API costs nothing, and it is the source of record for its own index. Above that, the Brave Search API Search plan is the rate to compare against, at $5 per 1,000 requests. Serpent carries Brave as one of five web engines on the same endpoint and the same key, billed on its published web category rather than on a Brave-specific price. If what you want is generated prose rather than a ranked list, SerpApi's Brave AI Mode API and the Answers plan are the two products that sell it. Checked 2026-09-16.

Related reading, if you came here from the product side of this engine rather than the web side: the same exercise on Brave product results is in the Brave shopping API comparison.

Related Posts